Posted by: Sarah | January 10, 2008

How Quickly Do You Read A Book?

According to John Crace, he of the Guardian’s weekly Digested Read, 60 pages an hour is average. Crumbs. Who has he been talking to? Or is it just me? Sixty pages an hour even on average seems like skimming to me.

When I was about 16 I timed myself for an hour whilst slogging though Crime and Punishment. I managed 40 pages. But it was very small print. And it was dense, heavy going. I tend to read lighter tomes more quickly, although reviewing has taught me to read more carefully and more critically than I used to. Gosh, if I read as carefully when I was 16 as I do now, it would probably have taken me a year or more to finish Crime and Punishment.

John Crace’s article rides on the back of this statistic:

a new report from the Office for National Statistics reveals that a quarter of people in the UK haven’t read a single book in the past year.

Shocking, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Categories

